Soprano Hibla Gerzmava to Play Carnegie Hall, 10/8

Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Soprano Hibla Gerzmava ( makes her North American solo recital debut in "An Evening with Hibla Gerzmava" at Carnegie Hall (881 Seventh Avenue) on Thursday, October 8, 2015 at 8pm. Tickets, which range from $19-125 dollars are available through the Carnegie Hall website (, in person at the Carnegie Hall box office or by calling 212-247-7800.

Accompanied on the piano by Ekaterina Ganelina, Ms. Gerzmava's Carnegie Hall recital will include romances by Tchaikovsky and Rachmaninoff as well as highlights of the European golden opera repertoire by Bellini, Handel, and Verdi.

Hibla regularly performs leading roles in major opera houses worldwide, including the Metropolitan Opera, London's Covent Garden, Mariinsky Theatre, and opera houses in Vienna, Paris and Rome. She won the Grand Prix at the Tchaikovsky International Competition, the first and only time in the competition's history that the highest prize has been awarded to a vocalist.

Originally from the Republic of Abkhazia, Hibla will be coming from Moscow for this concert. She will also be starring at The Metropolitan Opera in Puccini's Turandot, performing the part of Liu this Fall (September 23,26,30; October 3; November 7,12) and in Verdi's Otello in Spring 2016, performing the part of Desdemona (April 20,23,28; May 2,6)

The New York Times called Hibla "the warm-voiced soprano with affecting poise and strong-willed intensity" while Opera Today raved, "the sensational soprano Hibla Gerzmava is the most remarkable new talent encountered in many a year."

Ms. Gerzmava will be singing the following (subject to change):

Tchaikovsky: "It Was in the Early Spring," Op. 38, No. 2

Tchaikovsky: "Tell Me, What's in the Shade of the Branches," Op. 57, No. 1

Tchaikovsky: "Quietly flew the soul in the heavens above," Op. 42, No.2

Tchaikovsky: "The Crown of Roses," Op. 54, No. 5

Tchaikovsky: "The Cuckoo," Op. 54, No. 8

Tchaikovsky: "Does the day reign?," Op. 47, No. 6

Rachmaninoff: "Twilight," Op. 21, No. 3

Rachmaninoff "Lilacs," Op. 21, No. 5

Rachmaninoff "The Migrant Wind," Op. 34, No. 4

Rachmaninoff "Before My Window," Op. 26, No. 10

Rachmaninoff "Child, thou art as beautiful as a flower," Op. 8, No. 2

Rachmaninoff "They Answered," Op. 21, No. 4

Handel: "Lascia ch'io pianga" from Rinaldo

Verdi: "Mia madre aveva una povera ancella...Salce...Ave Maria" from Otello

Verdi: "Tu Del mio Carlo..." from Masnadieri

Bellini: "Casta Diva..." from Norma

This concert is part of the XIV Music Festival "Hibla Gerzmava Invites..." that took place in Vienna's Musikverein in April 2015, in Sukhumi in July, and will end in New York in October 2015.

Classical music desk

Back to News